through the body, connect to soul

Core Connection


This class is taught by:

Annie Moylan

RYT-200
I began my yoga practice to regain a sense of body consciousness. I had danced professionally in my 20’s, had my daughter in my 30’s and was driven by career, relationships and a desire to be a strong figure for my daughter in my 40’s. It was in my early 40’s that I began taking a weekly class and soon it was 3 times a week. Then came the incremental evidence of some big changes: with more maturity came my desire to speak my truth, self-respect grew as I centered on my mat without judgement, and curious of my own heart and soul, I began to foster the idea of one day teaching yoga. I became enamored with what seemed rightfully enriching to me personally---that this journey was a continuing education. My 200-hour teacher training with Ana Forrest was vigorous and gifted me with a comprehension of healing through breath, asanas and hands on energy work. Ana herself is steeped in the culture of Native American rituals, has written a compelling personal journey in “Fierce Medicine” and invites both broken and unbroken yogis into what she calls the hoop of the people in order to mend it. In Anchorage, I taught at Evolve Yoga in Spenard for two years. Kim Greeff ignited my yoga journey, and I continued with Kim’s Mentorship Program, shifting into an awareness of the anatomical body through her work with Jill Miller and the Yoga Tune Up Method as well as her ever growing method she has named Evolve Yoga. My all-level classes at Deha Yoga will be a mix of Forrest Inspired and Evolve Yoga with a linear development that warms the body, building with longer held poses towards an apex or intentional culmination, then warming down and enjoying the grateful heart of savasana. I look forward to sharing the journey with you!
Core Connection is a class centered around structural integrity and building strength, in addition to lengthening muscles. Bone-stacking asanas will let students go inside and explore the sensations present in each posture. A good way to clear the path to better health for the beginner and a building block of new awareness for the dedicated yogi. All levels, 75 degrees.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Oct 24 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Annie Moylan
  • Thu Oct 26 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon
  • Fri Oct 27 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Annie Moylan
  • Tue Oct 31 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Annie Moylan
  • Thu Nov 02 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon
  • Fri Nov 03 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Annie Moylan
  • Tue Nov 07 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Annie Moylan
  • Thu Nov 09 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon
  • Fri Nov 10 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Jen Gordon
  • Tue Nov 14 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon
  • Thu Nov 16 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon
  • Fri Nov 17 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Jen Gordon
  • Tue Nov 21 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Annie Moylan
  • Thu Nov 23 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon
  • Fri Nov 24 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Annie Moylan
  • Tue Nov 28 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Annie Moylan
  • Thu Nov 30 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon
  • Fri Dec 01 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Annie Moylan
  • Tue Dec 05 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Annie Moylan
  • Thu Dec 07 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Jen Gordon